At-Large Leadership Team (ALT-PLUS) Monthly Meeting

Date: Wednesday, 19 May 2021

Time: 16:30 - 18:00 UTC. For the time in various time zones click here

Real time transcription (RTT) available at:

How can I participate in this meeting?          

Zoom Link: / Password: ALT-PLUS01

ADIGO Passcodes: 

English Conference ID = 1638

Spanish Conference ID = 1738

French Conference ID = 1838

ALT Members: Maureen Hilyard, Holly Raiche, Jonathan Zuck, Dave Kissoondoyal, Joanna Kulesza, Carlos Raúl Gutiérrez

RALO Leaders: Seun Ojedeji, Aziz Hilali, Abdeldjalil Bachar Bong, Satish Babu (apology), Lianna Galstyan, Nadira AlAraj, Pavan Budhrani, Sébastien Bachollet, Natalia Filina, Sergio Salinas Porto, Harold Arcos, Omir Kerry Kerr, Carlos Leal Saballos, Augusto Ho, Eduardo Diaz, Judith Hellerstein

Liaisons: Cheryl Langdon-Orr, Andrei Kolesnikov, Barrack Otieno, Yrjö Länsipuro

Former At-Large Chairs: Alan Greenberg, Olivier Crépin-Leblond

Working Group Team Leaders: Jonathan Zuck, Olivier Crépin-Leblond, Daniel Nanghaka, Ricardo Holmquist, Ali Al-Meshal

NomCom Representatives: Hadia Elminiawi, Amrita Choudhury, Vanda Scartezini, Glenn McKnight


EN: Maureen Hilyard, Olivier Crépin Leblond (S), Cheryl Langdon-Orr, Barrack Otieno, Natalia Filina, Daniel Nanghaka, Jonathan Zuck, Seun Ojedeji, Yrjo Lansipuro, Matthias Hudobnik, Eduardo Diaz, Obed Sindy, ALi AlMeshal, Sebastien Bachollett, Joanna Kulesza, Glenn McKnight, Hadia Elminiawi, Alan Greenberg, Lianna Galstyan, Pari Estandiari, Martia Moll, Alfredo Calderon, Andrei Kolesnikov, Justine Chew, Greg Shatan, Abdulkarim Ayopo Oloyede, Judith Hellerstein, Sarah Kiden, Abdeldjalil Bachar Bong, 

ES: Harold Arcos, 


Apologies: Yeşim Nazlar (staff), Satish Babu, Vanda Scartezini, 

Staff: Heidi Ullrich, Gisella Gruber, Evin Erdoğdu, Silvia Vivanco, Claudia Ruiz



ES: Claudia & David

FR: Claire & Jacques

Call Management: Claudia Ruiz

Action Items: EN

Zoom Chat: EN        

Recording: EN, ES, FR            

Transcript: EN, ES, FR

Zoom Recording: EN


Standing Agenda Items

1.  Roll Call and Apologies – Staff (2 minutes)

2. Welcome, Adoption of Agenda and Call for Any Other Business or other Amendments – Maureen Hilyard, ALAC Chair (3 minutes)

Items for Discussion

3. Updates on At-Large 2021 Activities - Maureen and Leads - (15 minutes)


         CPWG Topics (Jonathan Zuck & Olivier Crepin-Leblond)

         ICANN71 Talking points (Jonathan Zuck)

Outreach and Engagement

        Outreach and Engagement (Daniel Nanghaka and Natalia Filina)

        Capacity Building (Joanna Kulesza and Alfredo Calderon) 

                Webinar Topics (Hadia Elminiawi)

                At-Large ICANN Learn Courses (Maureen Hilyard)

        Social Media - (Natalia Filina)


       Operations, Finance and Budget activities (Holly Raiche)

      At-Large Operations (Maureen Hilyard)

             ALAC Guest Speaker Schedule

             FY22 ABR Implementation Planning Schedule (update - Heidi Ullrich)

4. RALO Updates - RALO Chairs (10 minutes)

5. ICANN71 -Review of Schedule and At-Large Sessions - Maureen Hilyard, Gisella Gruber (10 minutes)

       See: ICANN71 - June 2021: Virtual Policy Forum Workspace

         a. ICANN Plenary Topics 

  • Governmental Regulatory Developments, WHOIS, Data Protection, and Cybersecurity (incl: Joanna Kulezsa)
  • ICANN and the Internet Governance Ecosystem (incl: Marita Moll)
  • Understanding Reputation Block List Providers (incl: Steinar Grotterod)

         b. At-Large Policy Sessions

  • The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) as a technology and policy implications (Joanna Kulezsa)
  • Developing Regional Policy measures in the field of DNS abuse (Joanna Kulezsa)
  • Public Interest: is the commercialisation of ccTLDs a threat? (Hadia Elminiawi)
  • ICANN - End User Participation in ICANN PDPs and their Role within the ICANN ecosystem (Hadia Elminiawi)

       c. Other At-Large Sessions: AFRALO;  EURALO,

6. At-Large 2021 Elections, Selections and Appointments - Maureen Hilyard and Heidi Ullrich (5 minutes)

      See: 2021 ALAC and RALO Elections, Selections and Appointments

      See ALAC Selection Timetable for 2021 ALAC Members: 

  • 10 May 2021 -  Announcement of call for nominations and Nominee's Statement.* (Except for NARALO that requires a call for nominations 30 days before the start of the elections.)

  • 10 May – 21 May 2021 - Nomination period (nominations accepted for 10 working days). 

  • 28 May 2021  - Deadline for nomination acceptances

  • 31 May 2021  - 4 June 2021- Calls with the candidates if desired by the RALOs. 

  • 7 June - 11 June 2021 - Elections (If required, elections will begin no later than one week after the deadline for nomination acceptances and end no later than two weeks after that deadline).

  • 2021 AGM [ ICANN72] - Newly elected ALAC Members and RALOs Leaders shall be seated at the end of the 2021 AGM following the close of the Board Meeting on 28 October 2021.

7. Next Call and Standing Time for ALT-Plus Calls - Maureen Hilyard and Yesim Nazlar (7 minutes)

  • Discussion

8. AoB - Maureen Hilyard (3 minutes)

  • No labels