Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Computer Society of India (CSI) was established in 1965 as a not-for-profit society, bringing together multiple constituencies such as computer professionals, industry, academia, students and computer users. While the initial group that provided leadership were largely drawn from the Research and Academic communities, the nearly 50 years of growth of CSI has brought together a fully diverse set of constituencies.

Membership and Structure
CSI had 105,000 members as of 31 March 2013. A large proportion of the members are students.

CSI is organized as Regions (7 internal and one international); Divisions (five thematic areas); and Special Interest Groups (22 as of March 2013). The Office Bearers of CSI (President, Vice President-cum-President-elect, Secretary and Treasurer), as well as the ExeCom (consisting of Chairs of Divisions and Regions) are elected, with annual or biannual terms. CSI has about 72 Chapters and about 500 Student Branches as of mid-2013.

CSI carries out several activities of interest to its membership as well as external stakeholders such as the Government and society at large. These include Conferences, Seminars & Workshops, Training & Capacity building programmes, socially-relevant projects, and e-Governance programmes. 

CSI became an ICANN ALS in 2012, under the stewardship of Satish Babu, who was President at the time.