• New:  ELECTION RESULTS of 2013 NCSG Annual Election (15 October 2013)
  • Congratulations to the NCSG Chair-Elect: Rafik Dammak
  • Congratulations to the 3 NCSG GNSO Councilors-Elect: Wolfgang Kleinwachter, Avri Doria, and Amr Elsadr
  • Thank you to the 2 departing NCSG GNSO Councilors: Wendy Seltzer and Joy Liddicoat

The time-table and details on the 2013 NCSG annual election are below.  The candidate nomination period runs 10-24 September 2013, and the voting takes place 1-14 October 2013 for all positions.

Nominations of candidates, their acceptance and the required candidacy statement should all be made to the NCSG members email list by the dates below to be effective.  
The following 4 NCSG positions are up for election this fall:
1.  GNSO Council Representative (currently held by Wendy Seltzer, who will be "term-limited" for this position)
     2-year term
2.  GNSO Council Representative (currently held by Wolfgang Kleinwachter, who is eligible for 1 more term)
     2-year term
3.  GNSO Council Representative (currently held by Joy Liddicoat, who is eligible for 1 more term)
     2-year term
4.  NCSG Chair (currently held by Robin Gross, who will be "term-limited" for this position)
     1-year term

2013 NCSG Election Schedule:
  Sept. 10 : Open Nominations for Candidates
  Sept. 24 : Close Nominations for Candidates (made & accepted)
  Sept. 26 : Candidates Make Public Statement (see details below) 
  Oct. 1 : Begin Voting
  Oct. 14 : End Voting
  Oct. 15 : Announce Election Results
  Nov. 22 : Term Begins

Nomination Process:

Any member of the NCSG may nominate any NCSG active member either for the position of an NCSG GNSO Council Representative or for NCSG Chair.
Once nominated, the nominee is responsible for public acceptance of the nomination and for making a public statement that includes:

  • Name, declared region of residence, gender and employment;
  • Any conflicts of interest;
  • Reasons for willingness to take on the tasks of the particular position;
  • Qualifications for the position; and
  • Statement of availability for the time the position requires.
  • The nominee’s statement may also include any other information that the candidate believes is relevant. 

**  Also note that under the rules, no more than two (2) NCSG GNSO Council Representatives can be declared resident of the same geographic region as defined by ICANN.  The 3 other continuing NCSG GNSO Councilors (those not up for election in 2013) are from the following regions: Asia-Pacific, South America, Europe.  This means there could only be one additional person elected from each of those already represented regions, and that would be determined by the top vote getter from that region in 2013.

**  These terms all commence on 22 November 2013, at the conclusion of the 2013 Annual ICANN Meeting in Buenos Aires.

**  Members receive a separate email notice from the chair requesting "check-in" and verification of email address.  

2013 NCSG Election Candidates

I.  2013-2014 NCSG Chair

(1 to elect) 1-year term 

Nominated Candidate
Nominated By
Accepted Nomination
Candidate Statement
Geographic Region
Rafik DammakAvri DoriaYesYesAfrica

II.  2013 NCSG GNSO Representatives

(3 to elect) each 2-year terms

Nominated Candidate
Nominated By
Accepted Nomination
Candidate Statement
Geographic Region
Avri DoriaWilliam DrakeYesYesNorth America
Amr ElsadrAmr ElsadrYesYesAfrica
Wolfgang KleinwachterWilliam DrakeYesYesEurope
Klaus StollRudi VasnickYesYesEurope
(Guy) Aho Tete BenissanMarie-Laure LemineurYesYesAfrica


For comments, suggestions, or technical support concerning this space, please email: ICANN Policy Department
© 2015 Internet Corporation For Assigned Names and Numbers