REGION: Asia/Australia/Pacific

The Non-Commercial Users Constituency is more important now than ever as we enter a crucial stage of the IANA transition. The post-IANA ICANN will be directly accountable to the global multi stakeholder community, of which the Asia Pacific constituency accounts for a significant segment. In my capacity as an NCUC member, I have mostly interacted with the IANA transition, although I have had the privilege of learning from colleagues here on concerns regarding Intellectual Property Rights, privacy, freedom of expression, transparency in corporate governance, and access to new gTLDs. The NCUC has performed remarkably, despite the lean resources available at its disposal, to voice and defend user concerns. In running for the NCUC EC seat from Asia-Pacific, I would like to help contribute to the constituency's continued efforts.

I'm a lawyer by training, and before working with two research institutions in India on Internet governance policy, I was briefly a journalist with a national daily. It is the NCUC's spirit of openness and its ability to absorb vastly divergent -- often critical -- views on policy that attracted me to this constituency. It has been very similar to being in an editorial board meeting with a bunch of quibbling journalists who care about the same causes!