Election Results:

Chair: Stephanie Perrin

GNSO Councillors: Rafik Dammak, Martin Silva Valent, Elsa Saade

** For Candidate Statement: https://community.icann.org/x/8oZHBQ

** For the list of members Checked-in: https://community.icann.org/x/84ZHBQ

** Meet the Candidate Call (06 August 2018): mp3 | viewing url | ac chat | attendance

The timetable and details on the upcoming 2018 NCSG annual election are below. 

The candidate nomination period runs 18 July - 01 August, and the voting takes place 07 August - 20 August for all positions.

Nominations of candidates, their acceptance and the required candidacy statement should all be made to the NCSG discuss list by the dates below to be effective.

*The following 4 NCSG positions are up for election this fall:*

  1. NCSG Chair, currently Farzaneh Badii, eligible for re-election;
  2. 2-year Council seat, currently Rafik Dammak, eligible for one more term;
  3. 2-year Council seat, currently Stephanie Perrin, term-limited;
  4. 2-year Council seat, currently Martin Silva Valent 

*NCSG Election Schedule:*

Jul 06               check-in begins

Jul 18               nomination period begins

Aug  01            nomination period ends

Aug  02            deadline for nomination acceptance and candidate statement

Aug  03            voter roll finalized, check-in ends

Aug 06             meet the candidates call

Aug  07            voting begins

Aug  20            voting ends

Aug  21            results announced

*Nomination Process:*

Any member of the NCSG may nominate any NCSG active member either for the position of an NCSG GNSO Council Representative or for NCSG Chair.

Once nominated, the nominee is responsible for public acceptance of the nomination and for making a *public statement* that includes:

   - Name, declared region of residence, gender and employment;
   - Any conflicts of interest;
   - Reasons for willingness to take on the tasks of the particular position;
   - Qualifications for the position;
   - Statement of availability for the time the position requires; and
   - Optionally, any other information that the candidate believes is relevant.

**  Also note that under the rules, no more than two (2) NCSG GNSO Council Representatives can be declared resident of the same geographic region as defined by ICANN, and there should be at least two of each gender.

**  These terms all commence on 26 October (at the conclusion of the 2018 Annual ICANN Meeting in Hyderabad).

**  All NCSG members will receive a separate email notice requesting "check-in" and verification of email address.

Election Process

This is an election with ballots.

  • The vote will be open from 07 August - 20 August 2018 23:59 UTC
  • A ballot sent to each of the active members, which list will be closed on 03 August 2018 23:59 UTC
  • This ballot will come from tally@icann.org.  
  • Voters will need to select 3 council candidates and 1 NCSG Chair candidate.  
    • For the NCSG Chair, the candidate with the most votes will be elected.

The selection will not occur through acclamation.

2018 NCSG Election Candidates

I.  2018 - 2019 NCSG Chair

(1 to elect) 1-year term 

Nominated Candidate
Nominated By
Accepted Nomination
Candidate Statement
Geographic Region
Stephanie PerrinRobin GrossYes
Poncelet IlelejiAkinremi Peter TaiwoNo
David CakeJames GitauNo

II.  2018 NCSG GNSO Representatives

(3 to elect) each 2-year terms

Nominated Candidate
Nominated By
Accepted Nomination
Candidate Statement
Geographic Region
Martin Silva ValentArsene TungaliYes
Raoul PlommerJames Gitau


Rafik DammakAyden FerdelineYes
Elsa SaadeTatiana TropinaYes
For comments, suggestions, or technical support concerning this space, please email: ICANN Policy Department
© 2015 Internet Corporation For Assigned Names and Numbers