(warning) Access and ability to log into the schedule platform can take up to 30 minutes after completing the registration process!


Join us for the popular ccTLD News Session, and a ccTLD Community webinar for newcomers.
(info) Read more here.

ICANN70 ccNSO Members Meeting

(subject to changes)

    Tuesday, 23 March 2021 (15:30-17:00 UTC)
    Governance Session

     Consult the session recordings here.

    • Session Chair: Chris Disspain

    The ccNSO has evolved since its creation in 2003. Its membership has grown from slightly over 40 members to 172 members, and while the ccNSO started as a Supporting Organization with a limited scope and mandate, it is now one of the five Decisional Participants in the Empowered Community.  Moreover, the internal rules of the ccNSO have not been updated since their adoption in 2004. They no longer reflect the evolved roles and responsibilities of the ccNSO Council and ccNSO membership. The goal of this session is to review (and update if needed) the governance structure of the ccNSO.  The focus of these discussions will be on ccNSO decision-making processes, roles, and interaction between the ccNSO Council and ccNSO Members. The results of the session will provide the basis for further work on these topics by the ccNSO Council and the ccNSO Guidelines Review Committee (GRC).

    On 20 March, Katrina Sataki (ccNSO Council Chair) shared a list of topics with the ccNSO members and council in preparation of this session. This list was developed by the ccNSO Guideline Review Committee (GRC) based on community feedback during the ICANN69 ccNSO Governance Session.  During the ICANN70 Governance Session, ccNSO members will be consulted regarding this topic list and other aspects. Consult the list here.

    Tuesday, 23 March 2021 (21:30-22:30 UTC)
    Question and Answer Session: ccTLD-associated ICANN Board Members

     Consult the session recordings here.

    • Session Chair: Jordan Carter (.nz)

    The ccNSO-appointed ICANN Board members, Patricio Poblete and Nigel Roberts, have been invited to attend a question and answer session and to share their experiences as Board members. Also invited are ICANN Board Chair Maarten Botterman and Vice Chair Leon Sanchez, and Board members with a long standing association with the ccTLD community: Becky Burr, Danko Jevtović, and Lito Ibarra.

    Wednesday, 24 March 2021 (19:30-21:00 UTC & 21:30-22:30 UTC)
    ccTLDs and the future

     Consult the session recordings here: part 1 & part 2

    • Session Chair: Sean Copeland (.vi)
    • Moderator: Biyi Oladipo (.ng)

    ccTLD stakeholders expect their ccTLDs to be resilient and future-proof. The keynote address by Olaf Kolkman (ISOC) in part 1 of this session will explore the properties needed to protect and enhance the future of the Internet. ccTLDs from various regions will look to the future: What do they see as major developments and how do they address them? Listen to presentations by Roelof Meijer (.nl), Anil Kumar Jain (.in) and Frederico Neves (.br). During the second part of the session, the audience and panelists are invited to share their views on making ccTLDs future-proof.

    • No labels