# **Multistakeholder Ethos Award 2015**

### (i) News:

# Cheryl Langdon-Orr & Nii Quaynor Selected as Multistakeholder Ethos Award Recipients for 2015



#### 22 June 2015

#### CHERYL LANGDON-ORR AND NII QUAYNOR ARE THE RECIPIENTS OF ICANN'S MULTISTAKEHOLDER ETHOS AWARD 2015

The Evaluation Panel for the 2015 ICANN Multistakeholder Ethos Award has selected long-time community members Cheryl Langdon-Orr and Nii Quaynor, as this year's award recipients.



ter of the Evaluation Panel in recognition of their different roles as key players with diverse backgrounds, geographic and community impacts. The panel award recipients his year because the panelists felt that both Cheryl and Nii distinctive ways, and should both be recognized for the examples they set for

Cheryl has served in multiple GNSO, ccNSO, At-Large and Cross-Community Working Groups, is the current Associate Chair of the Nominating Committee. She was the Chair of the Nominating Committee in 2014. Cheryl has also served as Chair of At-Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) for three years from October 2007 to December 2010, and as ALAC liaison to the GNSO and ccNSO Councils.

Nii was recognized by the panel for his historical and current participation within ICANN, being a former member of the Board of Directors from 2000-2003, as a key player in the 2003 Evolution and Reform Process, a member and leader of many Working Groups, and most recently the Strategy Panel on ICANN's Public Responsibility and the ongoing Global Commission on Internet Governance. Nii was instrumental in establishing AFRINIC and AFNOG and today continues to serve the stakeholders of the African Internet community.

The community selection panel chose Cheryl and Nii from 16 nominees as the two who best demonstrate the spirit of collaboration with other community members with the aim of consensusbuilding, while proving their dedication to ICANN's Multistakeholder Model through their active participation in Working Groups and Committees throughout the years. Cheryl and Nii have contributed to ICANN's community in different ways, not only through one group or Constituency, and are therefore well-known beyond any one constituency or stakeholder group as consensus-driven and committee individuals.

The community evaluation panel for 2015 consisted of: Alan Greenberg (At-Large), Olivier Crépin-Leblond (At-Large), Young-eum Lee (ccNSO), Celia Lerman Friedman (ccNSO), Alice Munyua (GAC), Alejandra Erramuspe (GAC), Volker Greimann (GNSO), David Cake (GNSO), Lyman Chapin (SSAC) and Robert Guerra (SSAC). Nominees and nominators are confidential.

Working over a period of three months, the selection panel evaluated nominations sent in from the community and carefully deliberated each candidate on four criteria:

- 1. Demonstrated multistakeholder volunteer service via working groups or committees.
- Demonstrated spirit of collaboration through engagement with other community members with the aim of consensus building.
- 3. Demonstrated facilitator of dialogue and open discussion in a fair, cordial and collegial manner.
- Demonstrated additional devotional factors exhibited by time spent supporting ICANN's multistakeholder model and its overall effectiveness.

The Multistakeholder Ethos Award program was created to recognize those ICANN participants who have deeply invested in consensus-based solutions and the importance of ICANN's multistakeholder model to Internet Governance. Because the multistakeholder model brings together competing or special interests to work towards a joint goal, it usually brings spirited discussions and debates on a range of issues. Because of the presence of so many different opinions and interests within ICANN's policy-making structure, courtesy and collaboration are key to its success.

## **Overview & Background:**

# Ethos Award Panelists 2015:

This award program seeks to recognize community members who have served in leadership roles in multiple ICANN working groups or committees and demonstrated collaboration with different supporting organizations and/or advisory committees.



SO Name

/AC

### Timeline

Ethos Award 2015 Recipient to be awarded at ICANN 53 in Buenos Aires (21-25 June 2015)

Nomination Period: 10 December -02 March 2015

Nomination Period Extended to 20 March 2015

Community Panelists to be appointed by SOs/ACs by 12 January 2015 ICANN hopes to acknowledge community participants who have (1) deeply invested in consensus-based solutions, (2) affirmed the importance of ICANN's multistakeholder model for Internet governance, and (3) contributed in a substantive way to the higher interests of ICANN's organization and its community.

Candidates for the award will demonstrate at least five years of participation in the ICANN community. A panel of community members is being convened to help review all nominations and determine the best candidates for the first awards. Recipients for this award will be evaluated by a community selection panel with four primary criteria in mind, using a point-based system:

- 1. Demonstrated multistakeholder volunteer service via working groups or committees <u>Maximum of 10 points</u>.
- 2. Demonstrated spirit of collaboration through engagement with other community members with the aim of consensus building <u>Maximum of 10</u> points.
- 3. Demonstrated facilitator of dialogue and open discussion in a fair, cordial and collegial manner <u>Maximum of 5 points</u>.
- Demonstrated additional devotional factors exhibited by time spent supporting ICANN's multistakeholder model and its overall effectiveness - <u>M</u> <u>aximum of 5 points</u>.

The first award recipient was announced in June 2014 at ICANN 50 - the ICANN Public Meeting in London.

### **Background:**

ICANN's distinctive multistakeholder model brings together community members with different backgrounds and interests to work towards a joint goal: to ensure the security and stability of the Internet's unique identifier systems. Due to the presence of so many different opinions and interests within ICANN's policy-making structure, courtesy and collaboration are key. The Multistakeholder Ethos Award recognizes those ICANN participants who have deeply invested in consensus-based solutions and in the importance of ICANN's multistakeholder model to Internet governance.

#### **Background Documentation:**

**Public Comment** 

Announcement

Unknown macro: 'viewtracker'

| At-<br>Large | Alan<br>Greenberg             |
|--------------|-------------------------------|
| At-<br>Large | Olivier<br>Crépin-<br>Leblond |
| ccNSO        | Young-Eum<br>Lee              |
| ccNSO        | Celia<br>Lerman<br>Friedman   |
| GAC          | Alice Munyua                  |
| GAC          | Alejandra<br>Erramuspe        |
| GNSO         | Volker<br>Greimann            |
| GNSO         | David Cake                    |
| SSAC         | Lyman<br>Chapin               |
| SSAC         | Robert<br>Guerra              |