2011 Election Call - LACRALO Chair and Secretariat Positions

LACRALO 2011 Chair & Secretariat Election Status

Position	Status	Election Result for 2011
LACRALO Chair, selected by LACRALO	Election finished	Andrés Piazza from AGEIA DENSI
LACRALO Secretariat, selected by LACRALO	Election finished	Dev Anand Teelucksingh from Trinidad and Tobago Computer Society

LACRALO Chair Position

Election timetable:

The LACRALO Secretary asked interested ALS representatives to put forward their candidatures by 24 March 2011.

Nominations for LACRALO Chair	Nominated By	Supported By	Date Nominee Accepted
Andrés Piazza	self- nomination	José Ovidio Salgueiro, Alberto Soto, Aislan Vargas, Jessel Ackbaral, Fatima Cambronero, Natalia Encisco, Horacio Fernández Delpech, Jose Luis Barzallo, Ana María Moreno Ballesteros	24 February 2011

Description of Position:

According to number 4 of the LACRALO Operating Principles:

His duties will consist of, among other things, establish a link between the discussions in ALAC and the contributions made by the region, represent the region in the ALAC face-to-face meetings and chair the debates of the Assembly held through discussion lists, teleconferences and face-to-face meetings.

See: Operating Principles of the LACRALO Rev1

Outcome of 2011 Election Call for LACRALO Chair

As there was only one nomination for the LACRALO President, Andrés Piazza from AGEIA DENSI, Argentina was returned as LACRALO President for a one year term from April 15, 2011.

LACRALO Secretary Position

Election timetable:

The LACRALO Secretary asked interested ALS representatives to put forward their candidatures by 24 March 2011.

Nominations for LACRALO Secretary	Nominate d By	Supported By	Date Nominee Accepted
Dev Anand Teelucksingh	Self- nomination	José Ovidio Salgueiro, Alberto Soto, Aislan Vargas, Jessel Ackbaral, Fatima Cambronero, Natalia Encisco, Horacio Fernández Delpech, Jose Luis Barzallo, Ana María Moreno Ballesteros	24 February 2011
Antonio Medina Gómez (withdrawn)	Self- nomination	Johnny Laureano	23 March 2011; then withdrew from election on 31 March 2011

Description of Position:

According to number 7 of the LACRALO Operating Principles:

7. The Secretariat shall have administrative and informative functions. IT will be responsible for maintenance of the communications systems and the proper flow of information on matters under discussion among all the ALSs belonging to the LacRALO, and any other responsibilities assigned to it by the General Assembly.

See: Operating Principles of the LACRALO Rev1.

Outcome of 2011 Election Call for LACRALO Secretariat

For the LACRALO Secretariat, there were two candidates and a virtual General Assembly convened to conduct a online vote. The online vote was extended when one of the candidates withdrew his candidacy. The election results showed that Dev Anand Teelucksingh from Trinidad and Tobago Computer Society, Trinidad and Tobago was returned as LACRALO Secretariat for a one year term from April 15, 2011.