Card
labelChair

Deck of Cards
idChair

Card
labelJoan Kerr

Name: Joan Kerr

Affiliation: Foundation for Building Sustainable Communities

Position applied for: NPOC Executive Committee Chair.

NPOC is full of positive team spirit, trust, collaboration and is poised to become fully involved in the policy development processes ICANN. The NPOC EC work as a cohesive team which enable the achievements thus far, 

Why you are running for the position?

To further implement the strategies developed over the last few years.

I am an Entrepreneur. For the past 43 years my experience ranged from project concept to completion with not for profit organizations, the private sector, to facilitating energy conservation workshops to business consulting.  I have been involved in organizing three (3) International Humanitarian Technology Conferences in Canada, and reviewer for the Global Humanitarian Technology Conference.   I have 30 years experience in community service, many as the Chair or in a leading role.

I love to develop organizations and engage people to ensure they feel part of the process and have an opportunity to participate. I prefer to work with people and lead by getting things done.  My personal philosophy is in building leaders is the best way forward.

As the current Chair of the NPOC EC, I feel that we have achieved a great many things in these past few years, including increasing our membership, drafting a new charter, creating marketing materials, submitting policy statements and collaborating with other constituencies within ICANN. 

However, there is much to be done. Our policy commitments need to initiate, increased communications with our members to collaborate and strengthen NPOC. I see those as the next focus for building NPOC, and I would like to work with the EC to develop both of these.

Do you have any conflict(s) of interest?: NO

How many Hours a week you are able to dedicate to the position:

I am able to dedicate about 3 hours per week.