Versions Compared

Key

• This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

If the Board does not practice what it preaches about openness, no other part of ICANN will likely practice it either. So I believe the ATRT is correct in that an early focus must be on the Board.

I have periodically looked at the salaries of ICANN’s senior managers, and did so in preparing my answer to this question. I am not an expert on what salary levels are common in either Southern California or Brussels, so my impressions are not the best measure. Nevertheless, I  find some of the salaries rather outlandish, and was surprised that others were as low as they are. If you were to compare salaries to other organizations, you would need to be careful in to compare not only non-profit to non-profit, but more importantly what salary levels people with the skills we need can command elsewhere. There is no point in paying lower salaries if we cannot maintain the quality. However, I am well aware that there are certainly a number of cases where in the past, we have paid VERY high salaries and not received the expected level of quality. THAT we should not stand for.

I think that the term “plan” may be to too strong, but I certainly have ideas. I can summarize them with three directives:

In the context of ICANN, I think it perhaps refers to the interests of those who are not represented by those with a direct financial stake in ICANN matters. It can also be a reference to the overall state of the Internet as a whole, to the extent that we can put metrics on it - for instance, if there were a major Denial-of-Service problem, that would not be in the public interest.