Please note that all documents referenced in the agenda have been gathered on a Wiki page for convenience and easier access:https://community.icann.org/x/JIoWBg

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Operating Procedures v3.3, updated on 30 January 2018

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.

  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.


Coordinated Universal Time: 12:00 UTC:  https://tinyurl.com/yycxjkmn

04:00 Los Angeles; 07:00 Washington; 12:00 London; 17:00 Islamabad; 21:00 Tokyo; 23:00 Melbourne

GNSO Council Meeting Audio Cast

Listen in browser: http://stream.icann.org:8000/stream01

Listen in application such as iTunes: http://stream.icann.org:8000/stream01.m3u

Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if they will not be able to attend and/or need a dial out call.

___________________________________

Item 1: Administrative Matters (5 mins)

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Updates to Statements of Interest

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

1.4 - Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meetings per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Minutes of the GNSO Council meeting on the 24 January 2019 were posted on the 7 February 2019

Minutes of the GNSO Council meeting on the 14th February will be posted on the 28 February 2019


Item 2: Opening Remarks / Review of Projects & Action List (15 minutes)

2.1 - Review focus areas and provide updates on specific key themes / topics, to include review of Projects List and Action Item List


Item 3: Consent Agenda (0 minutes)

  • None


Item 4: COUNCIL VOTE - Adoption of the Final Report on Expedited PDP on the Temporary Specification for gTLD Registration Data (40 minutes)

On 11 May 2018, ICANN released the Temporary Specification on gTLD Registration Data, which served as the main agenda topic for the subsequent Board Workshop in Vancouver. This proposed Temporary Specification provides an interim solution until the community completes a policy development process on the temporary specification which is expected to complete within a one year period.

On 17 May 2017, the ICANN Board approved the proposed Temporary Specification for gTLD Registration Data, which establishes temporary requirements for how ICANN and its Contracted Parties will comply with both ICANN contractual requirements and the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

On 12 June 2018, the Council held an Extraordinary Council Meeting to discuss next steps on addressing the Temporary Specification. There, the Council agreed in principle that an EPDP was the right way to address the issue and took steps to draft the charter and prepare for EPDP initiation. On 19 July 2018, the Council voted to initiate an EPDP on the Temporary Specification, as well as to adopt the EPDP’s charter.

The EPDP Team held its first meeting on 1 August 2018 and on 21 November 2018, the EPDP published its Initial Report for public comment. After taking into account public comment received, the EPDP Team has worked to deliver its Final Report to the GNSO Council for its consideration. Due to the unique circumstances concerning the deadline for implementation, and in order to minimize the transition period, the EPDP Leadership and Team informally recommends that discussion around implementation deliverables be initiated immediately. This preliminary work will inform the deliberations of the formal Implementation Recommendation Team upon Board approval of the Policy Recommendations.

Here, the Council will vote to adopt the Final Report of the EPDP Team.

4.1 - Presentation of motion (Rafik Dammak)

4.2 - Council discussion

4.3 - Council vote (voting threshold: Supermajority)


Taking this action is within the GNSO’s remit as outlined in ICANN’s Bylaws as the GNSO ‘shall be responsible for developing and recommending to the Board substantive policies relating to generic top-level domains and other responsibilities of the GNSO as set forth in these Bylaws’ (Art.11.1). Furthermore, this action complies with the requirements set out in Annex A: GNSO Policy Development Process of the ICANN Bylaws.


Item 5: COUNCIL DISCUSSION - Expedited PDP on the Temporary Specification for gTLD Registration Data - Phase 2 Work (15 minutes)

As noted in the charter for the Expedited PDP on the Temporary Specification for gTLD Registration Data, work on a System for Standardized Access to Non-Public Registration Data can only commence after the work on a series of gating questions are complete. With the EPDP Team’s delivery of its Final Report to the GNSO Council, the work on the gating questions can be considered to be completed and the work on the System for Standardized Access to Non-Public Registration Data, or otherwise known as phase 2 of the EPDP, should be allowed to commence. However, per the EPDP Team Charter, beginning that work is dependent upon non-objection of the GNSO Council (which is captured and granted in the resolution language for item 4 of this agenda). As part of the resolved clause, “...The Council does request that the EPDP Team, as a first step, develops its work plan for phase 2 and, furthermore, identifies whether the GNSO Council should consider any updates to the EPDP Team Charter to facilitate the EPDP Team’s work.”

The Council recognizes that suggestions to update the structure of the EPDP Team and any changes to the Charter are best delivered by the EPDP Team. However, the Council believes that it is constructive to have a preliminary discussion on the subject to see if there are any areas that Councilors believe will require revision for phase 2.

Here, the Council will have preliminary discussions on possible changes needed for phase 2 of the EPDP.

5.1 – Introduction of topic (Council leadership)

5.2 – Council discussion

5.3 – Next steps


Item 6: COUNCIL UPDATE – Status of the New gTLD Subsequent Procedures PDP WG (20 minutes)

On 17 December 2015, the GNSO Council resolved to initiate the PDP on New gTLD Subsequent Procedures, which was tasked to consider and analyze issues discussed in the Final Issue Report on New gTLD Subsequent Procedures and Applicant Guidebook to determine whether changes or adjustments to the existing policy recommendations are needed. The Charter was subsequently adopted on 12 January 2016 and the WG began meeting in February of that year.

Given the broad scope of the topics captured in the WG’s Charter, the WG established four sub teams to help streamline its work. The WG published an Initial Report on those subjects in July of 2018. The WG also considered several topics that it believed did not undergo adequate deliberations and in October of 2018 published a Supplemental Initial Report on those additional subjects.

In addition, the WG convened Work Track 5, which is dedicated to the singular topic of geographic names at the top-level. WT5 published its Supplemental Initial Report in December of 2018. The WG is in the midst of considering the extensive public comment received to its three reports and will begin substantive discussions shortly. The WG hopes to be able to conclude all aspects of its work and deliver a single Final Report to the GNSO Council.

Here, the Council will receive a detailed update from the WG’s Co-Chairs, Jeff Neuman and Cheryl Langdon-Orr.

6.1 – Presentation of topic (WG Co-Chairs, Jeff Neuman and Cheryl Langdon-Orr)Slide deck

6.2 – Council discussion

6.3 – Next steps


Item 7: ANY OTHER BUSINESS (15 minutes)

7.1 - ICANN64 Planning

7.2 - Lessons learned from the Council public comment formulation for the ICANN Draft FY20 Operating Plan and Budget and Five-Year Operating Plan Update and the ICANN Strategic Plan for Fiscal Years 2021-2025

7.3 - Public Comment: First Consultation on a 2-Year Planning Process

7.4 - ICANN64 Board Discussion Topics

7.5 - 2018 Council Strategic Planning Session Report

________________________________

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article 11, Section 11.3(i))

See https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/governance/bylaws-en/#article11.

Appendix 2: GNSO Council Absentee Voting Procedures (GNSO Operating Procedures, Section 4.4)

See https://gnso.icann.org/sites/default/files/file/field-file-attach/op-procedures-30jan18-en.pdf

References for Coordinated Universal Time of 12:00 UTC

Local time between October and March Winter in the NORTHERN hemisphere

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

California, USA (PST) UTC-8 04:00

San José, Costa Rica (CST) UTC-6 06:00

New York/Washington DC, USA (EST) UTC-5 07:00

Buenos Aires, Argentina (ART) UTC-3 09:00

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (BRST) UTC-2 10:00

London, United Kingdom (GMT) UTC+0 12:00

Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo (WAT) UTC+1 13:00

Paris, France (CET) UTC+1 13:00

Islamabad, Pakistan (PKT) (+1 day) UTC+5 17:00

Singapore (SGT) (+1 day) UTC+8  20:00

Tokyo, Japan (JST) (+1 day) UTC+9 21:00

Melbourne, Australia (AEDT) (+1 day) UTC+11 23:00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DST starts/ends on Sunday 31 of March 2019, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions) for EU countries and on Sunday 10 of March 2018 for the US.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com and  https://tinyurl.com/yycxjkmn

  • No labels
For comments, suggestions, or technical support concerning this space, please email: ICANN Policy Department
© 2015 Internet Corporation For Assigned Names and Numbers