# 2017 AFRALO Regional Selections

The following positions require a suitable Regional Leader to be appointed to serve in the 2017-2018 AFRALO Leadership Positions

- 1. An ALAC Representative for 2 year term ending at the 2019 AGM.
- 2. A Nom-Com appointed ALAC Member representing Africa for a 2 year term ending at the 2019 AGM. (This position is appointed by the NomCom)
- 3. An AFRALO Chair to serve a 2 year term ending at the 2019 AGM.
- 4. An AFRALO Vice-Chair to serve a 2 year term ending at the 2019 AGM.
- 5. An ALAC Delegate to the NomCom from Africa for a 1 year term ending at the 2018 AGM.

| Position                         | Role Previously Held By                                       | Nominee                | Nominated By /<br>Supported By | Date<br>Accepted | Results                            | Nominee<br>Statement<br>(Optional) | Term to<br>Serve     |
|----------------------------------|---|------------------------|--------------------------------|------------------|------------------------------------|------------------------------------|----------------------|
| ALAC Member (RALO)               | Seun Ojedeji (Eligible for re-election)                       | Seun Ojedeji           | Tijani Ben Jemaa               | 13 May 2017      | Seun Ojedeji by acclamation        |                                    | 2017AGM -<br>2019AGM |
| ALAC Member<br>(NomCom Selected) | Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri (Eligble for reselection by the NomCom) |                        |                                |                  |                                    |                                    | 2017AGM-<br>2019AGM  |
| Chair                            | Aziz Hilali (Not eligible for re-election)                    | Mohamed El<br>Bashir   | Seun Ojedeji                   | 15 May 2017      | Mohamed El Bashir by acclamation   |                                    | 2017AGM-<br>2019AGM  |
| Vice-Chair                       | Mohamed El Bashir (Not eligible for re-<br>election)          | Fatimata<br>Seye Sylla | Hawa Diakite                   | 15 May 2017      | Fatimata Seye Sylla by acclamation |                                    | 2017AGM-<br>2019AGM  |

### Selection Timetable for elected AFRALO Positions

- 1 May 2017 Announcement of call for nominations and Nominee's Statement.\*
- 1 May 12 May 2017 Nomination period (nominations accepted for 10 working days).
- 19 May 2017 Deadline for nomination acceptances
- 22 May 26 May 2017 Elections (If required, elections will begin no later than one week after the deadline for nomination acceptances and end no later than two weeks after that deadline).
- 2017 AGM [ICANN 60] Newly elected ALAC representative shall be seated on the ALAC at the ALAC Wrap Up Session during the 2017 AGM.

#### \*NOTES ON NOMINATIONS

- 1. All nominees are expected to submit a brief statement explaining why they believe they are a suitable candidate and must also complete or update their Statement of Interest (see: At-Large New SOIs Workspace).
- 2. No one who is currently serving on the Nominating Committee may be nominated for the ALAC. See https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/governance/bylaws-en#VII-8

## See AFRALO Operating Principles for relevant rules on AFRALO positions.

## ALAC Voting Delegates to the NomCom for 2017-2018

ICANN's Nominating Committee asked the At-Large Advisory Committee to submit a list with ALAC delegates from each of ICANN's five geographic regions. Voting members of the NomCom are appointed for a one year term, starting after the close of the Annual General Meeting 2017 and ending at the close of the Annual General Meeting 2018, and may be re-appointed for a further term of one year subject to the requirement under the ICANN Bylaws.

XI-2.4.e The ALAC shall, after consultation with each RALO, annually appoint five voting delegates (no two of whom shall be citizens of countries
in the same Geographic Region, as defined according to Section 5 of Article VI to the Nominating Committee.

| Role Previously Held By                                 | Nominee     | Nominated by /<br>Supported By | Date<br>Accepted | Nominee's<br>Statement | Regional Candidate(s)<br>Recommended to the ALAC | ALAC Appointed<br>Delegates to the<br>NomCom |
|---|-------------|--------------------------------|------------------|------------------------|--|--|
| <u>Dave Kissoondoyal</u> (NOT eligible for re-election) | Aziz Hilali | Mohamed El Bashir              | 14 May 2017      |                        | Aziz Hilali                                      | Aziz Hilali                                  |